Texas State Trooper Requirements
How to Become a Texas State Trooper
There are two main routes to becoming a Texas State Trooper. The first is to earn an associate’s degree or complete 90 credit hours at an approved university or college. The second is to enroll in the military and serve a minimum of 36 months. Applicants will need to pass tests and meet all requirements, such as for residency and age. To become a Texas State Trooper, the final step is to be accepted to and graduate from the training academy.
Applications may be sent at any time and are available from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Texas State Trooper Job Description
A Texas State Trooper ensures the safety of citizens and visitors within state boundaries. It is the duty of a Texas State Trooper to apprehend anyone who violates state law, as well as investigate crime after it is committed. Highway Patrol Division Troopers specialize in enforcing motor vehicle laws and regulations throughout the rural highways of Texas. Crime prevention and control are also essential duties.
Texas State Trooper Training, Prerequisites, and Educational Requirements
Usually a college or university degree is required, but this can be waived or reduced depending on previous experience in either the military or law enforcement. A successful applicant will also be required to pass a physical examination and vision test. The physical readiness test consists of three components:
- Finishing a 1.5-mile run in under 16 minutes, 25 seconds
- Completion of 28 unaided push-ups
- Completion of 35 unaided sit-ups
Applicants must also be 20 years old, pass a physical and visual exam, be of good moral character, and be able to pass an exhaustive background investigation.Once accepted, future troopers attend a 28-week training program.
Texas State Trooper Salary and Job Outlook
The application process to become a Texas State Trooper is quite competitive, but new recruits are always needed. Starting out as a trooper trainee, the initial salary is $2,982.25 per month. Upon successful graduation from Academy training, this will rise to $3,258.08 per month. After a 12-month probationary period this will rise further to $3,935.08 per month.
Texas Highway Patrol Division
PO Box 4087 MSC 0500
Austin, TX 78773